Annual Coat Drive!

Hello Woburn Residents,

The brisk winter is quickly approaching and every year the Woburn Youth Council collects coats from the community and donates them to charity.

From Dec. 7th - Dec. 15th the Youth Council will provide hangers to the community so all Woburn residents can participate. Traditionally, the hangers are dropped off at front doors in each residential area. Please don’t hesitate to donate any coats due to stains or broken zippers because local cleaners have volunteered to remedy any problems. If you are a retailer and you wish to donate coats you can drop them off at the Social Capital Inc. (SCI) office located at 165 New Boston Street Suite 233, Woburn MA.

On Saturday December 15, 2007 the Youth Council will make rounds in the community to pick up all donations from 12pm-3pm. Feel free to leave your donations at the front door on the hangers they’ve provided. For all inquiries please contact me at (781) 935-2244 or by clicking here. Thank you for your participation.

Pictures from the Festival on the Common

Hi everyone,

Here are some photos I took while manning the SCI Table at the Festival on the Common.

We gave away candy, met some new neighbors and reconnected with some old ones.

The evening started with the ice sculptors beginning their work on the Common, with arts & crafts tables, food and other vendors setting up around Woburn Center. A petting zoo featured lambs, goats, and a llama while horse-drawn carriages complete with guitarists trotted around the city. Santa made an appearance, ushered in by the Fire Department, and children lined up to get their photo taken with him in Citizens Park. Musical groups performed on the City Hall steps, and before the big moment Mayor McLaughlin read aloud "The Night Before Christmas." Then at 5:30 the lights on the Common went up to a count-down followed by cheers.

All in all it was a beautiful, yet chilly, night.

Happy Thanksgiving!

The morning fog lifted, making for a beautiful afternoon at Horn Pond!

Civic Engagement Summit a Great Success


The first ever Massachusetts Civic Engagement Summit was held last Friday. Social Capital Inc., a member of the planning committee, helped to make the Civic Engagement Summit a great success! A team of ten SCI staff and volunteers traveled to Worcester for this important event. Along with David Crowley and Crystal Johnson, SCI Woburn members Mike Sances, David Eggleton, Andrew Gibson, and Caitlin O'Reilly also attended.


Click Here to read the full press release!

Click Here to visit the Massachusetts Civic Action website

Marzilli Wins Democratic Primary

James MarzilliRep. James Marzilli of Arlington took the Democratic primary for the Fourth Middlesex District senate seat Tuesday. The top vote-getter here in Woburn was Rep. Patrick Natale, who took Woburn by a wide margin. Jim Marzilli will go up against Republican Brion Cangiamilia from Billerica and Constitution Party member Thomas Fallon from Burlington in the general election on Tuesday, Dec. 11.





Hey Woburn,
Thank you for hosting me and showing me a great time...Big up to David, Andrew, Heather, Amanda, and all of the SCI Woburn Staff,,,,,and of course my homie, Crystal...
You were able to create a sucessful tour for me and together we Blacked Out the entire area...
The message of Creative Civic Engagement fit right in with the overall mission of SCI...and that made our time together even more effective...
I visited several places including the day and evening School in Roxbury, and everywhere i went the people were well prepared to hear my message of community empowerment and I believe that 2008 holds great things for SCI and all of their community partners.
Once again it was a real honor for me to share the last few days with ya'll up here in the BEAN Area and I look forward to continuing to work together in the future...good tings a gwuan....
thanks again

The Election Results are In!

Vote!The local elections were held last Tuesday and the results are in. The top two vote-getters for the School Committee were Joseph Crowley and Christopher Kisiel and they will each serve four year terms. The others elected to the School Committee were Patricia Chisholm, Denis Russell, and John Wells, all incumbents.







The winners of the Alderman elections are as follows:

Alderman at Large:
Paul J. Denaro,
Joanna Gonsalves

Ward 1:
Charles E. Doherty

Ward 2:
Richard Gately Jr.

Ward 3:
Scott D. Galvin

Ward 4:
James J. Dwyer

Ward 5:
Darlene Mercer-Bruen

Ward 6:
Michael L. Raymond

Ward 7:
Raymond B. Drapeau

Syndicate content